Get the latest weekly fluid news direct to your inbox.

Sign up for our free newsletter now.

Yokogawa begins production of differential pressure/pressure transmitters in India

Yokogawa India, a wholly owned subsidiary of Yokogawa Electric Corp., has launched production of Yokogawa’ DPharp EJA-E series differential pressure/pressure transmitters in India.

The decision to launch production in India comes in response to a rising demand for control devices in the country’s market, which has been driven in part by Indian government policies that seek to foster stable growth in the mid-to-long term through the promotion of projects for the construction of oil, petrochemical, and power plants and other types of industrial infrastructure.

The launch of production in India will allow Yokogawa to better meet the needs of its Indian customers by, for example, speeding up product delivery and providing customized solutions, the company says.

To start, three DPharp EJA-E series products that are in particularly strong demand will be produced in India, and other products may be added at a later date.

Already one of the largest suppliers of differential pressure/pressure transmitters in India, Yokogawa aims to capitalise on the high growth in this market to expand the scale of its business.

In India, the company is targeting the annual production of 100,000 units by fiscal year 2020.

Differential pressure/pressure transmitters measure pressure, flow rate, and liquid level, and play an important role in the oil, petrochemical, chemical, iron and steel, power, and other industries in processes that involve the handling of liquids, vapours, and gases.

Globally, some 300 billion yen (appr. €2.4bn) worth of these transmitters are sold each year, making this the largest segment in the field instrument market, according to Yokogawa’s 2016 market survey.

In addition to the new Indian facilities, Yokogawa has production in Japan, China, the US, Bahrain, Singapore, and Brazil, and the company is also planning to begin producing the differential pressure/pressure transmitters in Russia, Germany, and Saudi Arabia.