Get the latest weekly fluid news direct to your inbox.

Sign up for our free newsletter now.

Pipeline consortium iPIPE welcomes two new members

The Intelligent Pipeline Integrity Program (iPIPE) has welcomed two new participating members in January 2020: Energy Transfer and TC Energy.

iPIPE is an industry-led partnership that focuses on advancing new technologies to prevent and detect pipeline leaks.

By joining iPIPE, Energy Transfer and TC Energy will actively participate in technology development efforts of the programme that will foster new approaches in improving pipeline integrity.

“Dakota Access Pipeline is excited to help steer the efforts of this programme, and expects that the outcomes of this unique program will result in an even greater record of safe operations across the entire pipeline industry,” said Vicki Granado, vice-president of corporate communications for Energy Transfer, operator of the Dakota Access Pipeline.

“The addition of a major player such as Energy Transfer signals industry’s continued interest in looking over the horizon for every tool possible to operate pipelines with zero spills,” added iPIPE programme manager, Jay Almlie. “We welcome all small and large pipeline operators in steering the efforts of this programme.”

“TC Energy is committed to operating the safest asset base in North America, using technology and advanced analytics to achieve that goal,” added Leslie Kass, executive vice-president, technical centre for TC Energy.

Welcoming TC Energy, iPIPE’s Almlie added: “The addition of yet another major player such as TC Energy signals industry’s continued interest in applying every tool possible to operate pipelines with zero spills. iPIPE members all share the same goals and perspectives on steering this programme to achieve the goal of continuing the high level of safety associated with this industry and leading the world in fostering new tools to do so.”

The two companies join several other partners in iPIPE, including DCP Midstream, Enbridge, Equinor, Goodnight Midstream, Hess, Oasis Midstream, Marathon Petroleum, ONEOK and Whiting Petroleum.